ten years later

I didn’t have any intention of doing a ten years later post.  There are plenty of those out there.  But then I went to an interfaith service of remembrance last night, and well, it was so moving I just had to share.  Muslims, Jews, and Christians gathered together for supper, conversation, and worship.  Folks travelled from many miles to be there, and the spirit in the room was solemn but hopeful.

Worship was quiet and meditative.  We sang and listened to songs of peace.  We prayed and shared readings that spoke to healing and hope from our traditions.  And we lit candles, remembering that God is the light in the darkness.

I was thankful for this way of remembering.  The spirit in the room was a stark contrast to the intentions of those who fly planes into buildings and those who wage war in response.  It was a witness to another way, an enacting of another reality, and it was good for the soul.

My favorite part of the evening was when Rabbi Bruce Kadden shared these words from Anne Frank:

It’s difficult in times like these: ideals, dreams and cherished hopes rise within us, only to be crushed by grim reality. It’s a wonder I haven’t abandoned all my ideals, they seem so absurd and impractical. Yet I cling to them because I still believe, in spite of everything, that people are truly good at heart. I simply can’t build my hopes on a foundation of confusion, misery, and death. I hear the approaching thunder that, one day, will destroy us too, I feel the suffering of millions. And yet, when I look up at the sky, I somehow feel that this cruelty too shall end, and that peace & tranquility will return once again.
 

May it be so.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to ten years later

  1. mahrilf says:

    really beautiful, Sarah

  2. Linda Gaines says:

    Sounds as if it was a beautiful time. I went to the Mozart Requiem at Mason Methodist with about 500 people. The pastor’s invocation included all people who have been affected in every country of our world following the 9-11 tragedy.
    “May light eternal shine upon them, O Lord
    in the company of thy saints forever and ever;
    for thou art merciful.
    Rest eternal grant to them, O Loard,
    and let perpetual light shone upon the.”

  3. Carolyn Joy says:

    Amen and amen.

Leave a Reply

